top of page
Search
  • hendersonkelseya

Holding Jesus

This was an outflow of working through some recent grief. One of my students passed this last week and my heart has been heavy. A shepherd feels the void when one of his sheep is missing. I am certainly feeling that void. My thoughts keep repeating “This little one was a mother’s baby girl”. As a mother who has rocked and comforted my own children countless nights, my heart is broken. One of the many ways I have found comfort this week has been in knowing that God Himself knows this pain of loss. He came down and lived as you and me. He had a mother who Held him, comforted Him, worried about Him, and loved Him. This “short” was written in a space of reflecting on Mary holding God in the flesh here on this broken Earth.



Holding Jesus

His body delicate,

His bones fragile,

Wrap Him in a warm blanket.

Sway Him slowly.

Breathe deeply to the rhythms of God’s grace.

Inhale what is, exhale gratitude for this beloved child.

Whisper softly lullabies of beauty, gentle winds, and flowing rivers.

Send up songs of praise for these quiet sacred moments in the presence of His Majesty.

Wait… Wait… Wait for heavy eyes to fall.

Stand quietly, lay Him gently.

Stay near.

Listen for Him to breathe.

Be.

Be alert.

For when He begins to wrestle, He will need to be soothed.

Tend to His nightmares and Trust that morning is dawning soon.

Morning is dawning.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page